Nominations form

Call for nominations

The annual Nat Nakasa Award recognises any media practitioner – journalist, editor, manager or owner – who has:

  • Shown integrity and reported fearlessly
  • Displayed a commitment to serve the people of South Africa
  • Tenaciously striven to maintain a publication or other medium despite insurmountable obstacles
  • Resisted any censorship
  • Shown courage in making information available to the South African public
  • Any combination of the above

The award is open to all journalists, irrespective of whether they serve a magazine, community or national newspaper or an electronic medium. Previous winners of this award are, however, not eligible for entry. The winner will be announced at the Nat Nakasa Award ceremony and will receive prize money and a certificate.

The Sanef-Wrottesley Award is given in recognition of excellent service to the organisation. It is presented to a Sanef member for extraordinary commitment to work towards the achievement of the association’s goals. The candidate must:

  • Be a Sanef member in good standing
  • Be active in Sanef for at least five years
  • Have shown both practical and leadership commitment, often behind the scenes
  • Have stepped in when Sanef has had difficulties
  • Have worked towards the achievement of Sanef’s strategic goals
  • Have contributed significantly towards the achievement of Sanef’s project objectives over a number of years
  • Have shown initiative in helping to solve problems
  • All criteria must be met

The award is open to all Sanef members who meet the criteria stipulated. The winner will receive prize money and a certificate.

Postal nominations

Please send your nomination to Sanef, indicating the name of the nominee and providing a supporting motivation to:

2nd Floor, 7 St Davids
St David’s Office Park
South Africa
Tel: 011 484 3624
Fax: 086 517 8736

Online nominations

Fill in your name, email and a message containing the person you are nominating with a motivation.