The Media Mill, 7 Quince Street, Milpark, Johannesburg

Founder Members


SANEF’s existence is a tribute to the willingness of media leaders to unite across political and ideological barriers. The organisation was fundamentally a merging of two previously polarised groups – The Black Editors’ Forum, motivated by strong Africanist and black consciousness beliefs, and the Conference of Editors, largely made up of white, male, middle-class English and Afrikaans newspaper editors.

The organisation’s history has been characterised by vigorous debate of controversial topics within the media industry.

Read Part of the Story, SANEF’s 10th anniversary publication, to learn more about SANEF from its inception through the early years of its existence in South Africa’s fledgling democracy, and about its vision for the future.

SANEF’s founder members include the following important editors and senior journalists.


Anton Harber

Adjunct Professor of Journalism at University of the Witwatersrand

 Amina Frense

Chairperson at the Institute for the Advancement of Journalism 

Arnold de Beer

Professor Extraordinary in the Journalism Department at Stellenbosch University

Arthur Maimane

Brian Pottinger

David Wightman

Debora Patta

Foreign correspondent at CBS News 

Dennis Cruywagen

Derek Forbes

Don Pinnock

Freelance Journalist 


Ebbe Dommisse


Guy Berger

Director for Freedom of Expression and Media Development at UNESCO

Ida Jooste

Health Media Advisor at Internews

Izak Minnaar

Digital News Editor at SABC

Jane Raphaely

Chairperson of the Associated Media Publishing 

Jim Jones

Jimmy Seepe

Joe Thloloe

Ethics Oversight Board at  Newzroom Afrika 

John Battersby

Freelance Journalist 

Judy Sandison

Latiefa Mobara

Executive Director of the Press Council 

Len Maseko

Freelance Journalist 

Mark van der Velden

Mary Papayya

Executive Director at Papayya Media 

Mike Loewe

Chief Reporter at Daily Dispatch

Mike Mills

Mike Tissong

Director at Uranus Financial Services

Moegsien Williams

 Former Editor-in-Chief of The New Age and ANN7

Molefi Mika

Mtholephi Mthimkhulu

Muriel Hau Yoon

Mzukisi Twala

Nigel Bruce

Global Chairperson and UK Committee Member at the Democratic Alliance

Peter Sullivan

Phil Molefe

Director of Business Development & Strategy at Fabrik

Pippa Green

Professor of Journalism at the University of Cape Town 

Raymond Louw

Ric Wilson


Sarah Crowe

Refugee and Migrant Crisis spokesperson at UNICEF Geneva

Sbu Mngadi

Shaun Johnson

Tim du Plessis

Head of News and Current Affairs at KykNet 

Thami Mazwai

Tyrone August

Freelance Journalist 

Wendy Morgenroodt

Xolani Tyilana

Yves Vanderhaegen

Editor at the Witness