Page Header 2



How Sanef works

The Sanef council is elected every two years at an elective AGM. Our most recent AGM was held on 23 June 2018. Our council meets four times a year.

The Sanef Management Committee includes the Chair, Deputy Chair, Secretary General, Treasurer, Media Freedom Chair, Western Cape Regional Chair, KZN Regional Chair, Gauteng Regional Chair and Eastern Cape Regional Chair. The Management Committee holds a teleconference once every two weeks.

There are a number of Sanef sub-committees

The Sanef Office is run on a day-to-day basis by the Executive Director and Office Administrator.


Sanef Council

Management Committee

Mahlatse Mahlase

Editor-in-Chief  at Primedia Broadcasting Group

Mary Papayya
Acting Media Freedom Chairperson

Katy Katopodis

Deputy Chairperson
Director at Nala Media 

Adriaan Basson

Editor-in-Chief at News24

Moipone Malefane

Secretary General

Regional Conveners

Hopewell Radebe
Acting Gauteng Convenor

Judy Sandison

Kwa-Zulu Natal
Sanef Founder Member 

Sibusiso Ngalwa

 Eastern Cape

Janet Heard

Western Cape
Managing Editor at Daily Maverick


Sheldon Morais

Broadcasting and Digital Co-Chairperson
Head of Fast News at News24


Dunisani Ntsanwisi

Community Media Chairperson
Association of Independent Publishers 


Glenda Daniels

Diversity and Ethics Chairperson
Associate Professor in Media Studies at University of the Witwatersrand


Monica Laganparsad

Diversity and Ethics Deputy Chairperson
News Editor at New Frame


Tshamano Makhadi

Education and Training Chairperson
Broadcasting Journalism Lecturer at Tshwane University of Technology



Adriaan Basson

Fundraising Chairperson 
Editor-in-Chief at News24


Reg Rumney

Fundraising Deputy Chairperson 
Director of the South African Reserve Bank Centre for Economics Journalism

Mary Papayya

Acting Media Freedom Chairperson


Pieter du Toit

Media Freedom Deputy Chairperson
Assistant Editor at News24


Other Council Members

Amina Frense

Chairperson at the Institute for the Advancement of Journalism 

Angie Kapelianis

National Radio Current Affairs Editor at SABC

Asanda Ngoasheng

 Specialist Reporting Lecturer at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology

Izak Minnaar

 Digital News Editor at SABC


Krivani Pillay

SAfm Executive Producer at SABC


Portia Kobue

News Editor at Kaya fm  


Verashni Pillay

Head of Digital at Power 98.7


Input your search keywords and press Enter.