The Media Mill, 7 Quince Street, Milpark, Johannesburg

Stephen Wrottesley


SANEF was happy to announce that the winner of the award for 2019 was Izak Minnaar for his tireless commitment to SANEF.

Izak has dedicated his life to media freedom policy and regulatory issues and was a champion behind SANEF’s election programme for 2019.

About the Award


Stephen Wrottesley was the chief of staff for Independent Newspapers, a respected journalist and one of SANEF’s founding members. He died in hospital after a fatal car accident in Cape Town in 2003 at the age of 47.


Wrottesley was the former news editor of the Cape Argus and had achieved renown as a top crime reporter with the Cape Argus. He was a past recipient of the Stellenbosch Farmers’ Winery Journalism Award for his reporting on illegal whaling. He was instrumental in the formation of the South African National Editors’ Forum and was a member of its executive committee for a number of years.

Previous recipients of the Sanef-Wrottelesy AwarD

2019 Izak Minnaar
2018 Amina Frense
2017 Paula Fray
2016 No winner
2015 Judy Sandison
2014 Gavin Steward
2013 Nic Dawes
2012 Juanita Williams
2011 Hopewell Radebe
2010 Raymond Louw
2009 Mathatha Tsedu
2008 Raymond Louw
2007 Mary Papayya
2006 Joe Thloloe
2005 Raymond Louw

The SANEF-Wrottesley Award, a peer recognition award, is presented to a SANEF member for extraordinary commitment to work towards the achievement of the association’s goals. Any member in good standing may submit a nomination and short motivation to the SANEF Management Committee. The winner will be awarded a framed certificate and financial token.

SANEF invites members to email their nominations for the SANEF-Wrottesley Award to SANEF.

Please email your nominations to

Please contact us for further information.