2nd Floor, 20 Baker Street, Rosebank, Johannesburg, 2169

Founder Members


SANEF’s existence is a tribute to the willingness of media leaders to unite across political and ideological barriers. The organisation was fundamentally a merging of two previously polarised groups – The Black Editors’ Forum, motivated by strong Africanist and black consciousness beliefs, and the Conference of Editors, largely made up of white, male, middle-class English and Afrikaans newspaper editors.

The organisation’s history has been characterised by vigorous debate of controversial topics within the media industry.

Read Part of the Story, SANEF’s 10th anniversary publication, to learn more about SANEF from its inception through the early years of its existence in South Africa’s fledgling democracy, and about its vision for the future.

SANEF’s founder members include the following important editors and senior journalists.


Anton Harber

 Adjunct Professor of Journalism at University of the Witwatersrand.

 Amina Frense

Chairperson at the Institute for the Advancement of Journalism 

Twitter Unknown

Arnold de Beer

Professor Extraordinary in the Journalism Department at Stellenbosch University

Arthur Maimane – Deceased

Trailblazing South African journalist and award-winning novelist

Brian Pottinger

Seasoned writer, analyst, & renowned Author

Twitter unknown

David Wightman

 Editor with a media career spanning 50 years (now retired) 

Twitter unknown

Debora Patta

South African broadcast journalist, investigative journalist & foreign correspondent at CBS News

Dennis Cruywagen

Author, Political Reporter, Communications Consultant & Speechwriter

Derek Forbes

Former HOD of Communication at NWU, former journalist

Twitter Unknown

Don Pinnock

         South African writer, investigative journalist, and photographer


Ebbe Dommisse

Author, Former writer, editor – retired

Twitter Unknown


reporter, editor, lecturer in journalism and head of the journalism department at Rhodes University

Twitter Unknown

Guy Berger

Director for Freedom of Expression and Media Development at UNESCO

Ida Jooste

Global Health Media Advisor at Internews

Izak Minnaar

Consultant and Trainer: Journalism,Digital Media and Elections

Jane Raphaely

Chairperson of the Associated Media Publishing 

Jim Jones

Former Editor at The Star

Twitter Unknown

Jimmy Seepe

Former Assistant Editor at City Press

Twitter Unknown

Joe Thloloe

Ethics Oversight Board at  Newzroom Afrika 

John Battersby

freelance journalist, author and independent consultant

Twitter Unknown

Judy Sandison

SANEF KZN Regional Coordinator 

Twitter Unknown

Latiefa Mobara

Executive Director of the Press Council 

Twitter Unknown

Len Maseko

Freelance Journalist 

Mark van der Velden

Former editor at SAPA

Twitter Unknown

Mary Papayya

Executive Director at Papayya Media 

Mike Loewe

Chief Reporter at Daily Dispatch

Mike Mills

Mike Tissong

Director at Uranus Financial Services

Twitter Unknown

Moegsien Williams

 Former Editor-in-Chief of The New Age and ANN7

Molefi Mika

Researcher and retired sports editor

Twitter Unknown

Mtholephi Mthimkhulu – Deceased

Former Agricultural and Environmental Affairs MEC

Muriel Hau Yoon

Mzukisi Twala

Nigel Bruce

Global Chairperson and UK Committee Member at the Democratic Alliance

Twitter Unknown

Peter Sullivan

Former Group Editor-in-Chief of Independent Newspapers

Twitter Unknown

Phil Molefe

Director of Business Development & Strategy at Fabrik

Twitter Unknown

Pippa Green

Press Ombudsman of South Africa

Raymond Louw – DECEASED

Journalist, Editor, and Media Commentator in South Africa

Ric Wilson


Sarah Crowe

Refugee and Migrant Crisis spokesperson at UNICEF Geneva

Sbu Mngadi

Senior partner of a global public policy advisory firm, and former editor of Tribute Magazine

Shaun Johnson -DECEASED

Veteran Journalist and Mandela Rhodes Foundation Founding Chief Executive

Tim du Plessis

Head of News and Current Affairs at KykNet 

Thami Mazwai

Former journalist and Apartheid Activist

Twitter Unknown

Tyrone August

Freelance Journalist 

Twitter Unknown

Wendy Morgenroodt

Counselor, Trainer, Journalist

Xolani Tyilana

Former Senior news editor, director at DHS

Twitter Unknown

Yves Vanderhaegen

Editor at the Witness