Page Banner 3

Stephen Wrottesley

About the Award

Stephen Wrottesley was the chief of staff for Independent Newspapers, a respected journalist and one of Sanef’s founding members. He died in hospital after a fatal car accident in Cape Town in 2003 at the age of 47.

Stephen Wrottesley

Wrottesley was the former news editor of the Cape Argus and had achieved renown as a top crime reporter with the Cape Argus. He was a past recipient of the Stellenbosch Farmers’ Winery Journalism Award for his reporting on illegal whaling. He was instrumental in the formation of the South African National Editors’ Forum and was a member of its executive committee for a number of years.

Previous recipients of the Sanef-Wrottelesy Award

2018 – Amina Frense

2017 – Paula Fray

2016 – No winner

2015 – Judy Sandison

2014 – Gavin Steward

2013 – Nic Dawes

2012 – Juanita Williams

2011 – Hopewell Radebe

2010 – Raymond Louw

2009 – Mathatha Tsedu is a Sanef council member and head of the Media 24 Journalism Academy. Prior to that he held the position of the editor of the Sunday Times and The Star. He was awarded the Nat Nakasa Journalism Award in 2000.

2008 – Raymond Louw

2007 – Mary Papayya is the secretary-general of Sanef and bureau chief of the Sowetan in KwaZulu-Natal. She is involved in a range of community and development projects and media training.

2006 – Joe Thloloe has been a journalist since 1961. He is former editor-in-chief of SABC News and Sanef chair.

2005 – Raymond Louw is a Sanef council member, publisher and editor of the Southern Africa Report, which he started in 1983, and a special interventionist on media freedom issues.


The Sanef-Wrottesley Award, a peer recognition award, is presented to a Sanef member for extraordinary commitment to work towards the achievement of the association’s goals. Any member in good standing may submit a nomination and short motivation to the Sanef Management Committee. The winner will be awarded a framed certificate and financial token.

Sanef invites members to email their nominations for the Sanef-Wrottesley Award to Sanef. Please email your nominations to . Please contact us for further information.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.