2nd Floor, 20 Baker Street, Rosebank, Johannesburg, 2169

Announcement of Finalists after the Conclusion of the Adjudication Process for the Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards

7 (2)



03 June 2024

The South African National Editors’ Forum (SANEF) is delighted to announce the finalists and the closure of the adjudication process for the prestigious Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards for excellent journalism has been successfully concluded.

This year, we were honoured to receive an overwhelming response, with approximately 600 entries pouring in nationwide, showcasing the exceptional talent and dedication within South Africa’s journalistic landscape.

SANEF, which coordinates and organises the awards, is thrilled to report that this year marked a significant milestone, with a record-breaking number of entries compared to previous years. We are proud to acknowledge the substantial representation from diverse media entities, further showing the diversity of voices and narratives that enrich our media landscape.

Quality news stories from these platforms stood tall alongside contributions from mainstream media establishments, highlighting the depth and breadth of journalistic excellence across all sectors.

This year’s finalists, in no particular order, are:

1. Hard News

Norman Masungwini  –City Press

Zikhona Tshona  – Newzroom Afrika

Slindelo Masikane – eNCA

2.Indigenous Language Reporting in Community Media

Annie Mokoena -SABC

Hlengiwe Ngwenya -SABC’s Cutting Edge

Zinhle Mugabe -SABC’s Cutting Edge

3.Community service Reporting

Hazel Friedman- Fokus on SABC2

Matthew Hirsch – GroundUp

Zikhona Tshona – Newzroom Afrika

Sune Payne and Samane Junior Marks  -Daily Maverick

4.Investigative Journalism

Nicky Troll- Carte Blanche

Joy Summers- Carte Blanche

Kyle Cowan, Azarrah Karrim and Sipho Masondo-News24

Caryn Dolley -Daily Maverick

5.Business Journalism

Lisa Steyn- News24 Business

Na’ilah Ebrahim -News24 Business

Lulamile Feni -Daily Dispatch

Nick Wilson- News24 Business

Jan Cronje -News24 Business


Xanderleigh Dookey Makhaza  -Eyewitness News

Don Pinnock – Jack Journal

Hazel Friedman – Fokus SABC2

Lucas Ledwaba- Daily Maverick

Sean Christie -Bhekisisa


Don Pinnock –Daily Maverick

Nomvuyo Ntanjana- SABC Cutting Edge

Luke Feltham – Mail & Guardian
Jonathan Ancer- News24


Bhekisisa Mncube -LitNet

Lucas Ledwaba- Daily Maverick

Carol Paton- News24

Ozayr Patel- Mail & Guardian

9. Visual journalism (Editorial cartoons & graphic layout)

Design Team -Daily Maverick

Carlos Amato- News24

Thulani Ntsong- Maverick Citizen

10.News Photographs

Alaister Russell -TimesLive

Jeremiah Thapelo Morebudi -Sunday Times

Ayanda Ndamane- Cape Times 

Sandile Ndlovu – Sunday Times/TimesLive

11.Feature Photographs

Sandile Ndlovu- Sunday Times/TimesLive

Theodore Jeptha – Daily Dispatch

12.Sports Photographs

Jaco Marais- Netwerk24 , Die Burger

Bertram Malgas- News24

It is worth mentioning that this year marks the third consecutive year that SANEF has spearheaded the awards across all media platforms. Previously organised by Print and Digital Media SA, and later the Publishers’ Support Services, the transition to SANEF’s stewardship has further enhanced the awards’ inclusivity and reach, ensuring that outstanding journalism from digital, print, and broadcast backgrounds and perspectives receives the recognition it deserves.

SANEF extends its heartfelt gratitude to all the entrants, finalists, judges, and supporters who have contributed to making this year’s awards a resounding success. Stay tuned for the outcome when the finalists meet at the awards ceremony in at The Venue, Melrose Arch in Johannesburg on 22nd June 2024, where we will celebrate and honour the exemplary achievements in South African journalism. The awards are sponsored by Standard Bank.

Note to Editors:

The South African National Editors’ Forum (SANEF) is a non-profit organisation whose members are editors, senior journalists, and journalism trainers from all areas of South African media. We are committed to championing South Africa’s hard-won freedom of expression and promoting quality, ethics, and diversity in the South African media. We promote excellence in journalism by fighting for media freedom, writing policy submissions, research, and education and training programmes. SANEF is not a union.

For more information, please contact:

Reggy Moalusi – SANEF Executive Director: (071) 682-3695

Hopewell Radebe – Projects Manager: 083 5821734

Dzudzie Netshisaulu – Administrator: 0790297656