2nd Floor, 20 Baker Street, Rosebank, Johannesburg, 2169

Call for Entries: Standard Bank Sikuvile Awards, brought to you by SANEF, 2024

Sikuvile call for entries 4

Entries for the 2024 edition of the Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards, brought to you by the South African National Editors’ Forum (SANEF), are now open and will close on Friday, 29 March 2024.

The Awards will cover stories published or broadcast between 1 January 2023 and 31 December 2023. There will be no extension and winners will be announced at an event on Saturday, 29 June, at a venue yet to be confirmed in Gauteng.

This is the third year SANEF is organising the awards. They were previously organised by PDMSA, now the Publishers’ Support Services.

The awards are open to all media platforms – print, online/digital, and broadcast (radio and TV) journalists. They are regarded as a highlight on the journalistic calendar rewarding the exceptional work done by the country’s journalists, in categories ranging from investigative journalism to feature writing, and lifestyle as well as photojournalism.

The Awards reflect the importance of groundbreaking, accurate, fact-based, truthful, fair, and verified reporting in a world where misinformation and disinformation continue to be a major concern in the media sector. They are also proof of the important role that the Fourth Estate plays in the country’s democracy.

Award Categories

The awards are open to all print, online/digital, and broadcast (radio and TV) journalists.

The categories are:

  1. Hard News
  2. Indigenous language reporting in community media
  3. Community Service Reporting
  4. Investigative Journalism
  5. Business Journalism
  6. Features
  7. Lifestyle
  8. Columns/Editorial
  9. Visual Journalism (Editorial Cartoons/Graphic Layout)
  10. News Photographs
  11. Features Photographs
  12. Sports Photographs
  13. Manager/Publisher of the Year Award: This is the second year this Award will be awarded. The award is aimed at rewarding newsroom managers/publishers for their work. The entry for this is a motivation letter or proof of activities by colleagues in the said media organisation.
  14. Juby Mayet Rising Star of the Year (Selected from the entries in the categories by the jury.)
  15. Journalist of the Year (Selected from the entries in the categories by the jury.)
  16. The Allan Kirkland Soga / Standard Bank Chairman’s Lifetime Achievement Award (previously the Allan Kirkland Soga: Achievement Award): Recognises a sustained and extraordinary contribution to newspaper journalism on the part of an individual and the winner will have demonstrated impeccable ethics and craft excellence.

To enter the awards, go to https://sikuvileawards.co.za.

Further information:


Reggy Moalusi- Executive Director/071 682 3695 – [email protected]

Hopewell Radebe- Projects Manager/ 083 582 1734 – [email protected]

Dzudzie Netshisaulu – Coordinator/Administrator – 079 029 7656 – [email protected]

Related Posts