2nd Floor, 20 Baker Street, Rosebank, Johannesburg, 2169

SANEF congratulates The African Editors Forum after electing a new leadership

5 (2)

20 February 2024

The African Editors’ Forum (TAEF) held a successful annual general meeting today (AGM), where a new leadership assumed responsibility for the organisation for the next two years.

The South African National Editors’ Forum (SANEF) congratulates TAEF on holding a successful AGM, on the sidelines of the Africa Media Festival, in Nairobi, Kenya.

TAEF is the continent’s premium editors’ guild that represents editors and senior journalists, whose primary purpose is to defend media freedom and be the leading voice for media advocacy.

The new executive committee is;

  • Chairperson – Churchill Otieno (Kenya)
  • Deputy Chairperson – Emmanuel Dogbevi (Ghana)
  • Secretary General – Emang Mutapati (Botswana)
  • Treasurer General – Sbu Ngalwa (South Africa)

SANEF welcomes the new executive committee and recognises the difficult task ahead, as it forges a new path of addressing a myriad of challenges faced by the media across the continent.

The AGM reiterated that there is an urgent need for continental cooperation, solidarity, and finding suitable solutions for the future sustainability of journalism.

Further, the AGM committed to innovation and the building of future newsrooms that are more fitted to respond to numerous challenges often faced by the news media.

There was also a commitment to sharply focus on reviving various regional editors’ structures across the continent, making them more responsive and active.

Mathatha Tsedu, veteran South African journalist and founding member of TAEF, was honoured at the AGM with a Lifetime Service to Journalism Award.

Note to Editors:

The South African National Editors’ Forum (SANEF) is a non-profit organisation whose members are editors, senior journalists, and journalism trainers from all areas of South African media. We are committed to championing South Africa’s hard-won freedom of expression and promoting quality, ethics, and diversity in the South African media. We promote excellence in journalism through fighting for media freedom, writing policy submissions, research, and education and training programmes. SANEF is not a union.

For more information please contact:

Sbu Ngalwa – SANEF Chairperson (073) 404-1415

Nwabisa Makunga – SANEF Deputy Chairperson (082) 555-1972

Dr. Glenda Daniels – SANEF Secretary-General (083) 229-9708

Tshamano Makhadi – Treasurer-General (082) 223 0621

Makhudu Sefara – SANEF Media Freedom Chair (079) 177-2134

Judy Sandison – SANEF KZN Convenor (082) 571-3334

Rochelle De Kock – SANEF Eastern Cape Convenor (072) 969-8028

Reggy Moalusi – SANEF Executive Director (071) 682-3695

Twitter: @SAEditorsForum

Email: [email protected]

Website: www.sanef.org.za