2nd Floor, 20 Baker Street, Rosebank, Johannesburg, 2169

SANEF Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards: Reminder to enter

3 (2)


08 May 2023

The entry deadline for the Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards (Sikuvile Awards), brought to you by the South African National Editors’ Forum (SANEF), is around the corner as 25 May nears.

There is no deadline extension this year and with 14 categories to choose from this year, all journalists, from the hard news, investigative, community (including Indigenous language reporting), lifestyle, popular, business features, visual journalism, columns/editorial to photography (sports, news, and features) media are encouraged to enter.

All category winners receive the coveted Sikuvile Journalism Award Trophy as well as R15,000 prize money (to be shared if there is more than one winner in a category).

Journalist of the Year and Juby Mayet Rising Star of the Year are selected from the entries in the categories by the jury.

The Allan Kirkland Soga / Standard Bank Chairman’s Lifetime Achievement Award (previously the Allan Kirkland Soga: Achievement Award) recognises a sustained and extraordinary contribution to newspaper journalism on the part of an individual and the winner will have demonstrated impeccable ethics and craft excellence.

This year the Awards theme is “Journalism: In the Face of Public LIE ability. When seeing is believing, when does the ability to lie end, and the liability begin?”

This year winners will be announced at a live event at The Venue, Melrose Arch, on 24 June 2023.

To enter the awards: https://sikuvileawards.co.za.

Further information:


Reggy Moalusi- Executive Director 071 682 3695 –[email protected]

Hopewell Radebe- Projects Manager/ 083 582 1734 – [email protected]

Dzudzie Netshisaulu – Coordinator/Administrator 079 029 7656/ [email protected]