2nd Floor, 20 Baker Street, Rosebank, Johannesburg, 2169

SANEF Standard Bank Sikuvile Awards celebrates the UN World Press Freedom Day

3 (2)

3 May 2023  

This year is 30 years since the United Nations marked World Press Freedom Day, which came as a recommendation of UNESCO’s General Conference.

Since then, on 3 May, the anniversary of the Declaration of Windhoek is celebrated worldwide as World Press Freedom Day.

“After 30 years, the historic connection made between the freedom to seek, impart and receive information and the public good remains as relevant as it was at the time of its signing,” says the UN.

Here at home, South African journalists continue to face a barrage of intimidation, threats, and cyberbullying, among other violations of media freedom.

Yet, journalists in SA continue to be brave as they continue to work around the clock delivering the best journalism, exposing the rot, and telling untold stories.

It is in this light that the South African National Editors’ Forum’s (SANEF) Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards (Sikuvile Awards) once again delivers this year’s edition of the Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards.

The Awards, which opened last week are a highlight of the important work that journalists do in this country in guarding its democracy and is testimony to the importance of press freedom.

The Awards close on 25 May. There is no deadline extension this year. The Awards’ winners will be announced at a live event at The Venue, Melrose Arch, on 24 June 2023.

Winners are rewarded with the coveted Sikuvile Journalism Award Trophy as well as R15,000 prize money (to be shared if there is more than one winner in a category).

There are 14 categories to choose from this year, including the new category for the Manager/Publisher of the Year Award that rewards managers/publishers for their work. The entry for this is a motivation letter or proof of activities by peers in the industry.

Journalist of the Year and Juby Mayet Rising Star of the Year are selected from the entries in the categories by the jury, while the jury nominates The Allan Kirkland Soga / Standard Bank Chairman’s Lifetime Achievement Award (previously the Allan Kirkland Soga: Achievement Award).

This Award recognises a sustained and extraordinary contribution to newspaper journalism on the part of an individual and the winner will have demonstrated impeccable ethics and craft excellence.

To enter the awards: https://sikuvileawards.co.za

Further information:


Reggy Moalusi- Executive Director 071 682 3695 –[email protected]

Hopewell Radebe- Projects Manager/ 083 582 1734 – [email protected]

Dzudzie Netshisaulu – Coordinator/Administrator 079 029 7656/ [email protected]